“Vajra” in Sanskrit or “Dorje” in Tibetan, meaning both “THUNDERBOLT” and “DIAMOND”. As in the legends, Vajra was used as a weapon by Lord Indra to create thunderbolts upon demons and in the spiritual context Vajra was and is used as an important tool in performing ceremonies in Buddhism and Hinduism rituals.

In Buddhism, when the spokes at either end are closed, the intention is always for the purpose of promoting ajra the embodiment of truth refracted and reflected through the perfect purity of the diamond. The thunderbolt represents the pure awareness and wisdom of the Buddha. The brilliance of that wisdom is indestructible and can never be harmed or destroyed by ignorance. A tool to destroy evil and ignorance, and with its presence in mind and soul.


Center Sphere:
Represents primordial nature of the universe.

Lotus Petals emerging from the Sphere:
These petals signify the unification of the Samsara from one side and the world of Nirvana from the other.

4 Makara (mythological half fish and half crocodile):
The unification of animal harmonizes the qualities that transcends our experiences.

5 Pronged Vajra (with 4 Makara, plus a central prong):
There is an elaborate system of correspondences between the 5 elements of Samsara and Nirvana. One important correspondence is between the five “toxins” with the five wisdoms. The five toxins are the mental status that obscure the original purity of a being’s mind, while the five wisdoms are the 5 most important aspects of the enlightened mind.

Each of the five wisdoms are represented by different depictions of Buddha.

Buddha Wisdom Toxin
Amitabha Wisdom of individuality Desire
Akshobhya Mirror Wisdom Anger / Hatred
Vairocana Reality Wisdom Delusion
Ratnasambhava Wisdom of Equanimity Greed / Pride
Amoghasiddhi Wisdom of Accomplishment Envy